Southface honors former Atlanta Mayor Shirley Franklin with prestigious Argon Award

Press Room


Southface honors former Atlanta Mayor Shirley Franklin with prestigious Argon Award

During its annual Visionary Dinner gala, Southface recognized former Atlanta Mayor Shirley Franklin’s outstanding achievement in realizing a sustainable future.

The Argon Award for Excellence in Sustainability was presented at Southface’s annual Visionary Dinner held at Flourish, Atlanta on September 12, 2018. The award recognized Shirley Franklin and her contributions to environmental sustainability initiatives and equity in the City of Atlanta, in addition to her ongoing work with Purpose Built Communities that builds on that legacy of good governance. The Visionary Dinner is an annual event that raises awareness of and guarantees a secure future for Southface’s continued work in creating vibrant, healthy communities for all.

In 2002, Atlantans elected Shirley Franklin to the first African-American woman to be mayor of a major southern city. Franklin served two terms as mayor, during which the City of Atlanta experienced unprecedented growth and afforded Mayor Franklin the opportunity to partner and collaborate with many local and regional leaders in addressing urban policy challenges, including urban planning, economic development and infrastructure.

She is best known for tackling major government operations and ethics reform, launching the Atlanta Beltline, planning and executing over $5 billion in airport and water infrastructure improvements, leading the acquisition of the Morehouse College Collection of Martin Luther King Jr. Papers, launching the Atlanta Regional Commission on Homelessness, and developing successful private and public sector partnerships and alliances.

Currently, Franklin is executive chairman of Purpose Built Communities, a non-profit consulting firm that works side-by-side with local leaders across the nation to plan and implement holistic neighborhood revitalization efforts.

Former Atlanta mayor Shirley Franklin is honored with the 2018 Argon Award. L-R: Steve Nygren, Serenbe (2017 recipient); Shirley Franklin; Andrea Pinabell, Southface President; and Katie Walls, WSB-TV

Past Argon Award winner include:

2000 Ray Anderson, Interface
2001 Arthur Blank, The Home Depot
2002 Dr. William Chase, Emory University
2003 R. E. “Ted” Turner, The Turner Foundation
2004 Jim Jacoby, The Jacoby Group and
2004 Pam Sessions, Hedgewood Properties, Inc.
2005 Sam A. Williams, Metro Atlanta Chamber
2006 Martin Melaver, Melaver, Inc.
2007 Edward Callaway, Callaway Gardens
2009 The Coca-Cola Company
2010 Whole Foods Market
2011 United Parcel Service
2012 Laura Turner Seydel and Rutherford Seydel
2013 The Kendeda Fund
2014 Atlanta Mayor Kasim Reed
2015 Cox Conserves
2016 Dennis Creech
2017 Steve and Marie Nygren

Media Inquiries

For more information about Southface or to arrange an interview with our President Andrea Pinabell, members of the media should contact:

Back to Press Room

Related Content

Creating a Virtual Space for Southface’s Biggest Night of the Year

The 2020 Visionary Dinner gathered the nonprofit’s community of supporters with an exquisite online cooking...

Southface Institute’s Online Visionary Dinner Celebrates Spatial Justice and Regenerative Placemaking

(ATLANTA, GA.) September 4, 2020 – Southface Institute, the Atlanta-based nonprofit leader in the design...